AICSA re-appoints GAIL KOVATSEFF as Chair with new Deputy Chair JESSICA ALICE

For Immediate Release
Thursday 18 June 2020

On Wednesday 17 June Arts Industry Council of SA (AICSA) Executive Committee re-appointed GAIL KOVATSEFF as Chair for a further one-year term.

AICSA is delighted to welcome Director of Writers SA JESSICA ALICE as the new Deputy Chair. Previous AICSA Treasurer, Managing Director, Adelaide Symphony Orchestra VINCE CICCARELLO was re-appointed for a further one-year term.

Commenting on her re-appointment, Kovatseff said, “The arts and culture sector has been dramatically affected by the COVID-19 shutdowns including significant job losses. The arts industry has struggled to gain recognition and traction, particularly with the federal government on its important cultural and economic role. It is critical that the advocacy role of AICSA continues and I am pleased to contribute to AICSA’s ongoing work in this area. I am also pleased to welcome new and youthful energy to the committee.”

The Arts Industry Council of SA is managed by an executive of up to thirteen people comprised of up to TEN elected and THREE co-opted financial members. The Executive Committee members volunteer their time to carry out AICSA’s work and are supported by a part-time (one day per week) Executive Officer.

At the Annual General Meeting held on 13 May 2020, AICSA welcomed the following new committee members: Kristen Eckhardt, Nescha Jelk, Justyna Jochym, Dearna Newchurch, Nadia Parker and Eleanor Scicchitano.

AICSA is pleased to announce that from 17 June 2020 GAIL KOVATSEFF has been returned as Chair of AICSA, with JESSICA ALICE appointed as Deputy Chair and VINCE CICCARELLO re-appointed as Treasurer.


Gail Kovatseff, Programs, Audience and Industry Development Manager, Adelaide Film Festival

Jessica Alice, Director, Writers SA

Vincent Ciccarello, Managing Director, Adelaide Symphony Orchestra

Amber Cronin, Cross-disciplinary artist
Kristen Eckhardt, Director of Marketing, Sales and Audience Engagement, Adelaide Festival Centre
Justyna Jochym, CEO of Festivals Adelaide
Dearna Newchurch, Project Coordinator at MOD.
Nescha Jelk, Co-Executive Director of RUMPUS Theatre
Nadia Parker, Event Programmer Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium
Eleanor Scicchitano, Independent Curator and Writer
Emma Webb, Director, Vitalstatistix

Julianne Pierce