23 May 2016

Dear artists, arts workers and arts lovers,

Federal government’s cuts to the funding of the Australia Council for the Arts are beginning to have their long-term impact felt across the country, including here in South Australia.

The Friday 13 May 2016 announcement of Australia Council‘s 4-year funding recipients saw 62 small to medium arts organisations lose their on-going federal funding. This included six SA companies; a number of which are now under threat of closure.

In light of these federal arts funding changes, we encourage you to write to Minister for the Arts, Senator Mitch Fifield, as well as your local federal representative to voice your concerns about the impact of these cuts and the need for effective arts policies, especially in the lead up to the federal election on 2 July 2016.


AICSA has prepared template letters about the arts funding cuts that you can use to send in May-June 2016, by email or mail.

You are welcome to personalise these letter and add your unique views on the issue. Please fill in your contact details in the space provided.

1) Write to Minister for the Arts, Senator Mitch Fifield download AICSA’s letter template #1

2) Write to your federal representative
download AICSA’s letter template #2 or use this effective alternative letter template put together by local musicians (as at 10 June)

Contact details for federal members of House of Representatives are below. If you are unsure of which electorate you are in, search on the Australian Electoral Commission website.


Thanks for your support in this campaign. Please encourage your friends and networks to also write during May-June to make the voice for the arts heard loud and clear!


Minister for the Arts, Senator Mitch Fifield

Senator the Hon. Mitch Fifield
Minister for the Arts
42 Florence Street
Mentone VIC 3194


Federal House of Representatives members

Hon Kate Ellis MP
Member for Adelaide (ALP)
161 Main North Road,
Nailsworth SA 5083

Mr Tony Pasin MP
Member for Barker (LP)
Shop 17, Murray Bridge Market Place, South Terrace
Murray Bridge SA 5253

Dr Andrew Southcott MP
Member for Boothby (LP)
Level 1, 724 Marion Road

Mr Rowan Ramsey MP
Member for Grey (LP)
PO Box 296
Port Pirie SA 5540

Mr Matt Williams MP
Member for Hindmarsh (LP)
Shop 2, 670 Anzac Highway
Glenelg East SA 5045

Hon Amanda Rishworth MP
Member for Kingston (ALP)
232 Main South Road
Morphett Vale SA 5162

Mr Tony Zappia MP
Member for Makin (ALP)
PO Box 775
Modbury SA 5092

Hon Jamie Briggs MP
Member for Mayo (LP)
PO Box 1601
Mount Barker SA 5251

Hon Mark Butler MP
Member for Port Adelaide (ALP)
PO Box 2038
Port Adelaide SA 5015

Hon Christopher Pyne MP
Member for Sturt (LP)
429 Magill Road
St Morris SA 5068

Mr Nick Champion MP
Member for Wakefield (ALP)
PO Box 288
Smithfield SA 5114